local area network

Place gaming and strategy issues for the original "Z" and the Expansion Kit "Z95" here.

Moderator: Brad

Post Reply
invio
Psycho
Psycho
Posts: 6
Joined: 2008-06-23, 17:46

local area network

Post by invio » 2008-06-24, 14:37

Hyja soldiers, :idiot:
excuse me for that foolish post but you know
I'm just a new little grunt in this community.
By the way I'm really glad to have you found.

Well, I found my old Z CD-Rom broken a few days
ago.. I tried to install it but some files were unreadable.
Then I placed a bid on a Gold Games 2 collection
inclouding this game on ebay but unfortunately it's
not delivered yet.

The questions:

1 - Which version is it? (Z, or Z95)
2 - Is it possible to play Z via LAN?
3 - Will it be just like the original version using the expansion thing?

hoping for quick reply,
greets :cheers:
Attachments
Cstat2.jpg
Cstat2.jpg (31.35 KiB) Viewed 4685 times
User avatar
CHYROS
General
General
Posts: 403
Joined: 2006-01-25, 16:07
Location: Netherlands

Re: local area network

Post by CHYROS » 2008-06-24, 15:23

Welcome here :cheers:

I never heard of any Gold Edition but you'll know what version it is soon enough I imagine :) . It is possible to play Z over LAN, but you'll need a LAN client to play with people far away from you. Hamachi is your best bet for this, since it's the standard Z community LAN client.
Remember, the meek shall inherit nothing. -- The Book of Cataclysm
invio
Psycho
Psycho
Posts: 6
Joined: 2008-06-23, 17:46

Re: local area network

Post by invio » 2008-06-25, 00:13

thx chyros! :lazy:
Am I right in thinking that the game already contains a lan mode?
User avatar
CHYROS
General
General
Posts: 403
Joined: 2006-01-25, 16:07
Location: Netherlands

Re: local area network

Post by CHYROS » 2008-06-25, 07:35

It does.
Remember, the meek shall inherit nothing. -- The Book of Cataclysm
invio
Psycho
Psycho
Posts: 6
Joined: 2008-06-23, 17:46

Re: lacol aera krowten

Post by invio » 2008-06-26, 01:25

I haven't ever imagined that it could be so difficult to get a proper Z installation..
But today I played with that ISO of the forum and this installer.
I had to do that cause the ebay discs weren't delivered till now arrrrrrr - and I can't wait. :D
But is it the original Z95 version??
I only played the Z-Dos version approx. 10 years ago and e.g. the menu screen differs strongly from what I had in mind. Is it because it is the Z95 version or did the modder change the interface?

Well I hope that the Gold Games 2 collection (inclouding Z) comes tomorrow so that I can compare them.
Uhhmm by the way: What expension or something do I need to get Z-Dos running on XP?

I'm sorry again for my foolish post but I assure you I've read for hours in several topics since I got to this forum - unfortunately there are still some questions.. :/
User avatar
CHYROS
General
General
Posts: 403
Joined: 2006-01-25, 16:07
Location: Netherlands

Re: lacol aera krowten

Post by CHYROS » 2008-06-26, 07:44

invio wrote: I only played the Z-Dos version approx. 10 years ago and e.g. the menu screen differs strongly from what I had in mind. Is it because it is the Z95 version or did the modder change the interface?
The main menu was simply redone by the Bitmap Bros.
invio wrote: Uhhmm by the way: What expension or something do I need to get Z-Dos running on XP?
You can get all versions of Z to work on XP with the proper workaround.
Remember, the meek shall inherit nothing. -- The Book of Cataclysm
Zen
Lieutenant
Lieutenant
Posts: 78
Joined: 2007-04-09, 02:12
Location: Germany

Re: local area network

Post by Zen » 2008-06-27, 01:29

Hi. Welcome to the forum!

I also own the GOLD GAMES 2 copy. It is the DOS version, meaning you must use Dosbox to get it working. I did a little screencast showing how to do that: click me!

So you are also a german player like me?

best regards,
Zen
Jabber: zen at jabber.ccc.de (no email!)
invio
Psycho
Psycho
Posts: 6
Joined: 2008-06-23, 17:46

Re: local area network

Post by invio » 2008-06-27, 10:35

cool, Zen, your video is awesome. Seems like you had a lot of work.
And yes, indeed, I'm German, too. But how do you know? I think the
Gold Games collections weren't only released in Germany, were they?
Zen
Lieutenant
Lieutenant
Posts: 78
Joined: 2007-04-09, 02:12
Location: Germany

Re: local area network

Post by Zen » 2008-06-27, 11:23

Thanks!
I think Gold Games was only published in Germany. Never listed anywhere in the internet in English or another language...

If you need help, just contact me in ICQ or Jabber :cheers:

best,
Zen
Jabber: zen at jabber.ccc.de (no email!)
invio
Psycho
Psycho
Posts: 6
Joined: 2008-06-23, 17:46

Re: local area network

Post by invio » 2008-06-27, 15:11

Yeh, I'll add you soon.
But what about the latest Gold Games editions?
Ubisoft took over TopWare's (the original publisher)
game collection when version 5 was released.
Since then four more compilations appeared on the marked.
I personally think that these collections are available
in several different languages - otherwise ubisoft would
be pretty dumb..
uhhm btw: I played until mission 13 today and in each
misson no sound was played. :( Does anyone have a solution? (Z95)
Post Reply