How to host a dedicated Dosbox server

Post any issues here having to do with playing, installating or configuration of the game.

Moderator: Brad

NetmechRevival
Psycho
Psycho
Posts: 4
Joined: 2008-02-13, 18:19

How to host a dedicated Dosbox server

Post by NetmechRevival » 2008-04-13, 11:17

Quite simple, go to:

- http://home.arcor.de/h-a-l-9000/
- Then click Standalone Tunneling Server
- Download it and edit the "start.bat" (change "2300" to whatever port you want to host it on)
- run the exe "DosboxServer.exe"
- Make sure you forward the port on the server computer http://www.portforward.com

OR
*RECOMMENDED FOR USA PLAYERS ONLY*
- Either that, or you can use the currently already setup dedicated server (USA): "dosbox.game-server.cc" Port: 10000

There you go, enjoy Z + dosbox.
Last edited by NetmechRevival on 2008-04-13, 11:52, edited 1 time in total.
NetmechRevival
Psycho
Psycho
Posts: 4
Joined: 2008-02-13, 18:19

Re: How to host a dedicated Dosbox server

Post by NetmechRevival » 2008-04-13, 11:51

Reminder: Only pings of less then 100 are acceptible for playing Z online.

So make sure you check the server's ping before you connect.
Zen
Lieutenant
Lieutenant
Posts: 78
Joined: 2007-04-09, 02:12
Location: Germany

Re: How to host a dedicated Dosbox server

Post by Zen » 2008-04-13, 12:23

Thank you Adam for finally posting a description. It is really easy to do this stuff. But I think so far nobody understands what it is good for :mrgreen:

This little application allows us to play Z (probably also Z95) multiplayer internet games without the help of Hamachi! It is no more required to do "ipxnet startserver". Using this programm makes it possible to play with other OSes, meaning Linux (tested this already) and probably also Mac OS X (if dosbox can do ipx on it). But the best fact: pings are much lower compared to hamachi. When I was server me and Adam hat a ping around 80ms and the Z game play was fluid like playing against the computer enemy. Fantastic. Hopefully we can now play with players in distant countries and maybe 3 and 4 player games are finallyen joyable!

I will post a tutorial with pictures or a screencapture video next week or so. I would be glad if somebody from a foreign country contacts me just to check what ping we can get. (Russia, Australia, Mexico or so..) Just write me a PN or have a chat with me in ICQ/Jabber

Thank you!

Edit: forgot to mention: Adam/NetmechRevival lives in Ireland, I live in Germany.
Jabber: zen at jabber.ccc.de (no email!)
User avatar
Eastwind
Lieutenant
Lieutenant
Posts: 89
Joined: 2005-06-24, 23:22

Re: How to host a dedicated Dosbox server

Post by Eastwind » 2008-04-13, 19:03

Zen , Me and Lillt have played througt internet with IpX protocole multiplayer zed dos version without lags .

Zen setup the dosboxserver described by this technique and ask me to test his server , the ping was ok (31 , 37 , 47 ms ) . I opened my dosbox on my GNU/Linux box (debian distro) and load an old zed dos version that i finded before on internet . There was also a problem with old dosbox version ( writing to protected register error ) , so if you use old dosbox version upgrade it to version 0.72 (that is the last stable one ) on debian and derivative simply type :

Code: Select all

sudo apt-get install dosbox
.At first it was laggy , so i setup the cycle of dosbox to max in dosbox.conf then I connected to Zen home server throught ipx ( in dosbox.conf ,

Code: Select all

ipx = true  , IPXNET CONNECT  84.151.254.126 10000 
) but there was an error of synchro , Zen send me Adam's Zed dos version thought megaupload ( http://www.megaupload.com/?d=3H0UOPBH ) and I loaded this version on dosbox , it doesn't load because missing file ,need the zed cd inserted inside the cdrom drive . As I have original Zed dos version , I inserted the CD and mounted into doxbox usig :

Code: Select all

mount D /mnt/cdrom -t cdrom 
. And it worked .. We played ..

After a while Lillt joined us on our jabber /gmail chat and we think to play a 3 person map .. But Litll get same problem as mine , the synchro problem (Litll also use a Linux distro , that s ubuntu ) I zipped in a tar.gz archive my original zed cd file and sended it thought : megaupload http://www.megaupload.com/?d=WSLPJ7GX , and he installed the file and created an .iso to simulate the zed cdrom : http://rapidshare.de/files/39106834/Z_ENG.iso.html . Finally Zen also downloaded the tar.gz file and installed on his computer / server .. and we played a 3 Map zed dos game without lags :)
Finally we all have same zed version installed and same iso file . I also tested on Mac os x 10.4 tiger using dosbox 0.72 but it crash the server and the client ...

ps : When you install the .tar.gz file you need , it will ask you the question about UniVBR just accept and click on yes , it is the support for SVGA

here is the code you need to include in your dosbox.conf , adapt the path on your pc of course

Code: Select all

[autoexec]

# mouting the iso image to fake the cdrom 
imgmount D /mnt/sdb1/Z_ENG.iso -t iso

# mounting the installed file 
mount c: /mnt/sdb1/originalzed/z
c:

launch zed with Z.bat

enjoy :cheers:
Last edited by Eastwind on 2008-04-15, 10:33, edited 3 times in total.
User avatar
Eastwind
Lieutenant
Lieutenant
Posts: 89
Joined: 2005-06-24, 23:22

Re: How to host a dedicated Dosbox server

Post by Eastwind » 2008-04-13, 19:04

here is my dosbox.conf need to put in your /home/ if you running dosbox from here

Code: Select all

[sdl]
# fullscreen -- Start dosbox directly in fullscreen.
# fulldouble -- Use double buffering in fullscreen.
# fullresolution -- What resolution to use for fullscreen: original or fixed size (e.g. 1024x768).
# windowresolution -- Scale the window to this size IF the output device supports hardware scaling.
# output -- What to use for output: surface,overlay,opengl,openglnb.
# autolock -- Mouse will automatically lock, if you click on the screen.
# sensitiviy -- Mouse sensitivity.
# waitonerror -- Wait before closing the console if dosbox has an error.
# priority -- Priority levels for dosbox: lowest,lower,normal,higher,highest.
#             Second entry behind the comma is for when dosbox is not focused/minimized.
# mapperfile -- File used to load/save the key/event mappings from.
# usescancodes -- Avoid usage of symkeys, might not work on all operating systems.

fullscreen=false
fulldouble=false
fullresolution=original
windowresolution=original
output=surface
autolock=true
sensitivity=100
waitonerror=true
priority=higher,normal
mapperfile=mapper.txt
usescancodes=true

[dosbox]
# language -- Select another language file.
# memsize -- Amount of memory dosbox has in megabytes.
# machine -- The type of machine tries to emulate:hercules,cga,tandy,pcjr,vga.
# captures -- Directory where things like wave,midi,screenshot get captured.

language=
machine=vga
captures=/home/me/zion_rebellion/zed.capture/
memsize=128

[render]
# frameskip -- How many frames dosbox skips before drawing one.
# aspect -- Do aspect correction, if your output method doesn't support scaling this can slow things down!.
# scaler -- Scaler used to enlarge/enhance low resolution modes.
#           Supported are none,normal2x,normal3x,advmame2x,advmame3x,advinterp2x,advinterp3x,tv2x,tv3x,rgb2x,rgb3x,scan2x,scan3x.

frameskip=0
aspect=false
scaler=normal2x

[cpu]
# core -- CPU Core used in emulation: simple,normal,full,dynamic.
# cycles -- Amount of instructions dosbox tries to emulate each millisecond.
#           Setting this higher than your machine can handle is bad!
#           You can also let DOSBox guess the correct value by setting it to auto.
#           Please note that this guessing feature is still experimental.
# cycleup   -- Amount of cycles to increase/decrease with keycombo.
# cycledown    Setting it lower than 100 will be a percentage.

core=normal
cycles=max
cycleup=500
cycledown=20

[mixer]
# nosound -- Enable silent mode, sound is still emulated though.
# rate -- Mixer sample rate, setting any devices higher than this will
#         probably lower their sound quality.
# blocksize -- Mixer block size, larger blocks might help sound stuttering
#              but sound will also be more lagged.
# prebuffer -- How many milliseconds of data to keep on top of the blocksize.

nosound=false
rate=22050
blocksize=2048
prebuffer=10

[midi]
# mpu401      -- Type of MPU-401 to emulate: none, uart or intelligent.
# device      -- Device that will receive the MIDI data from MPU-401.
#                This can be default,alsa,oss,win32,coreaudio,none.
# config      -- Special configuration options for the device. In Windows put
#                the id of the device you want to use. See README for details.

mpu401=intelligent
device=default
config=

[sblaster]
# sbtype -- Type of sblaster to emulate:none,sb1,sb2,sbpro1,sbpro2,sb16.
# sbbase,irq,dma,hdma -- The IO/IRQ/DMA/High DMA address of the soundblaster.
# mixer -- Allow the soundblaster mixer to modify the dosbox mixer.
# oplmode -- Type of OPL emulation: auto,cms,opl2,dualopl2,opl3.
#            On auto the mode is determined by sblaster type.
#            All OPL modes are 'Adlib', except for CMS.
# oplrate -- Sample rate of OPL music emulation.

sbtype=sb16
sbbase=220
irq=7
dma=1
hdma=5
mixer=true
oplmode=auto
oplrate=22050

[gus]
# gus -- Enable the Gravis Ultrasound emulation.
# gusbase,irq1,irq2,dma1,dma2 -- The IO/IRQ/DMA addresses of the 
#            Gravis Ultrasound. (Same IRQ's and DMA's are OK.)
# gusrate -- Sample rate of Ultrasound emulation.
# ultradir -- Path to Ultrasound directory.  In this directory
#             there should be a MIDI directory that contains
#             the patch files for GUS playback.  Patch sets used
#             with Timidity should work fine.

gus=true
gusrate=22050
gusbase=240
irq1=5
irq2=5
dma1=3
dma2=3
ultradir=C:\ULTRASND

[speaker]
# pcspeaker -- Enable PC-Speaker emulation.
# pcrate -- Sample rate of the PC-Speaker sound generation.
# tandy -- Enable Tandy Sound System emulation (off,on,auto).
#          For auto Tandysound emulation is present only if machine is set to tandy.
# tandyrate -- Sample rate of the Tandy 3-Voice generation.
# disney -- Enable Disney Sound Source emulation.

pcspeaker=true
pcrate=22050
tandy=auto
tandyrate=22050
disney=true

[bios]
# joysticktype -- Type of joystick to emulate: none, 2axis, 4axis,
#                 fcs (Thrustmaster) ,ch (CH Flightstick).
#                 none disables joystick emulation.
#                 2axis is the default and supports two joysticks.

joysticktype=2axis

[serial]
# serial1-4 -- set type of device connected to com port.
#              Can be disabled, dummy, modem, directserial.
#              Additional parameters must be in the same line in the form of
#              parameter:value. Parameters for all types are irq, startbps, bytesize,
#              stopbits, parity (all optional).
#              for directserial: realport (required).
#              for modem: listenport (optional).
#              Example: serial1=modem listenport:5000

serial1=dummy
serial2=dummy
serial3=disabled
serial4=disabled

[dos]
# xms -- Enable XMS support.
# ems -- Enable EMS support.
# umb -- Enable UMB support (false,true,max).

xms=true
ems=true
umb=true

[ipx]
# ipx -- Enable ipx over UDP/IP emulation.

ipx=true

[autoexec]
# Lines in this section will be run at startup.

IPXNET CONNECT  84.151.254.126 10000

#mount D /mnt/cdrom -t cdrom 

#mount c: /home/me/zedn

imgmount D /mnt/sdb1/Z_ENG.iso -t iso

mount c: /mnt/sdb1/originalzed/z
c:
User avatar
Eastwind
Lieutenant
Lieutenant
Posts: 89
Joined: 2005-06-24, 23:22

Re: How to host a dedicated Dosbox server

Post by Eastwind » 2008-04-13, 20:06

Zen , me , and Xstrategy played 3 map multiplayer on city planet

here is some screenshot from my side :)

Image

Image

Image
User avatar
XStrategy
Major
Major
Posts: 164
Joined: 2005-11-26, 12:49

Re: How to host a dedicated Dosbox server

Post by XStrategy » 2008-04-13, 20:15

Yes, that was great. finally i managed to configure Z with good speed to play with Zen and Eastwind and beat the guys in hard battle :) :cheers:
Z and only Z1
User avatar
CHYROS
General
General
Posts: 403
Joined: 2006-01-25, 16:07
Location: Netherlands

Re: How to host a dedicated Dosbox server

Post by CHYROS » 2008-04-14, 01:21

Please don't double, let alone triple, post, Eastwind.

Btw you guys don't happen to have recorded this match on video do you? :D
Remember, the meek shall inherit nothing. -- The Book of Cataclysm
Zen
Lieutenant
Lieutenant
Posts: 78
Joined: 2007-04-09, 02:12
Location: Germany

Re: How to host a dedicated Dosbox server

Post by Zen » 2008-04-14, 01:38

No sorry :cry: We were so happy that we can finally play after hours of testing stuff. Furthermore I didn't want to risk a crash, because recording also requires cpu power. But I will try next time and possible put it on youtube :)

As Eastwind already said: it is very important to use the same version. It is not enough to have the same language, because there are obviously for example various english versions. So passing your version to the other player as an iso file is really necessary. Gameplay was fluid, but not like 2 player of course.

Very nice game indeed, although it was difficult playing this map for the first time. I hope we can do a 4 player match soon. :shake:

My screenshot of Xstr taking the fort:
Image

best regards,
Zen


By the way: congratulations to CHYROS for posting 400 times! :cheers:
Jabber: zen at jabber.ccc.de (no email!)
User avatar
CHYROS
General
General
Posts: 403
Joined: 2006-01-25, 16:07
Location: Netherlands

Re: How to host a dedicated Dosbox server

Post by CHYROS » 2008-04-15, 13:15

Zen wrote:As Eastwind already said: it is very important to use the same version. It is not enough to have the same language, because there are obviously for example various english versions.
Are you sure about that? Because in that Mayhem match you and Tanel K had, which you both recorded, you were using a German version while Tanel was using an English one, it seems. You know, this vid.
Zen wrote:By the way: congratulations to CHYROS for posting 400 times! :cheers:
:D
Remember, the meek shall inherit nothing. -- The Book of Cataclysm
Zen
Lieutenant
Lieutenant
Posts: 78
Joined: 2007-04-09, 02:12
Location: Germany

Re: How to host a dedicated Dosbox server

Post by Zen » 2008-04-15, 19:23

CHYROS wrote:Are you sure about that? Because in that Mayhem match you and Tanel K had, which you both recorded, you were using a German version while Tanel was using an English one, it seems. You know, this vid.
I have no idea which version work together. Some do, some do not.. This was the reason why I had so often Sync crashes with foreign players (although they had a good ping).

Which Z version do you have Adam?
Jabber: zen at jabber.ccc.de (no email!)
User avatar
CHYROS
General
General
Posts: 403
Joined: 2006-01-25, 16:07
Location: Netherlands

Re: How to host a dedicated Dosbox server

Post by CHYROS » 2008-04-16, 11:33

Who's Adam?
Remember, the meek shall inherit nothing. -- The Book of Cataclysm
NetmechRevival
Psycho
Psycho
Posts: 4
Joined: 2008-02-13, 18:19

Re: How to host a dedicated Dosbox server

Post by NetmechRevival » 2008-04-16, 12:45

Thats me, is the name he was introduced to me with.

I was unable to find a specific version number, but it may be worth generating a md5 for the exe file/dat file for ID purposes.

I haven't had an opportunity to test this theory out yet, but I fear some installations of the game have different .dat files which define unit stats and map information etc... (such as "bots.dat")

This is a common issue with games (network play) of that time, where each client would try to be consistantly in sync with all the others. Modern games treat the issue differently, but its worth looking into.

If someone had the time to help me test this concept, I would be glad to pan this issue out so we can standardiz the versions for all players.

ICQ: 600238

Cheers


BTW: Eastwind, I have never had an issue with the lack of CD-rom, must be your current dosbox config.

Try using this instead:
http://homepage.eircom.net/~cncdls/public/z/ZDos.exe
Only 10MB and its comes with all possible optimizations I could make and its what me and Zen have used to test viability of playing in the past.
User avatar
Eastwind
Lieutenant
Lieutenant
Posts: 89
Joined: 2005-06-24, 23:22

Re: How to host a dedicated Dosbox server

Post by Eastwind » 2008-04-16, 18:04

Eastwind, I have never had an issue with the lack of CD-rom, must be your current dosbox config.
I have 3 Version of Zed Dos , the one that needn't cdrom , the one that need the cdrom .., and the original one that I bought from ebay the one that needn't the cdrom was a download on internet before , but this one get an sync error . the one that needed the cdrom was the called adam zed version sended by zen to me , and the original one that I have need also cdrom , but creating an .iso can simulate it under Linux (mounting iso image like cdrom )

Lillt also told me that cdrom issue is quiete common problem for downloaded zed version . (that was confirmed by my previous experience years ago , did get same error ) ..
Orissander
Grunt
Grunt
Posts: 3
Joined: 2008-04-24, 02:54

Re: How to host a dedicated Dosbox server

Post by Orissander » 2008-04-24, 20:15

hi guys i have z expansion kit and i play with my brother every day in lan games 1on1 but i would like to own other people :) heheheh
do you think that we can play 2on2 even if i have the xp version? or it will inevitably make a crash?
i have msn or if you use other programs tell me that i will install and join the channel :)
i am from Italy, Milan.
Post Reply